Advisory Panel

From its inception, DiEM25 has attracted some well-known, influential personalities from across the globe. They have been helping ‘curate’ DiEM25’s thinking, events and campaigns from the very beginning.

These people gave rise to our Advisory Panel, which advises DiEM25 and facilitates the implementation of its aims.

Members of DiEM25's Advisory Panel do not necessarily share all of DiEM25's objectives and political positions, and vice versa. They were invited to act as advisors, and have accepted DiEM25's invitation, because of their remarkable contributions to areas and campaigns dear to DiEM25 members and because DiEM25 represents a political movement that they look at with interest and sympathy.

The following people currently sit on DiEM25’s Advisory Panel:

bobby gillespie

Robert "Bobby" Gillespie

Scottish musician and singer-songwriter; lead singer and founding member of the alternative rock band Primal Scream. Previously the drummer for The Jesus and Mary Chain.

jane sanders

Jane Sanders

President of Burlington College, experienced social worker, founder in 2017 of the Sander Institute and wife of Bernie Sanders.

george bizos

George Bizos

Human rights lawyer with many high profile cases including Nelson Mandela. One of the major figures in the protests against apartheid (especially during the Rivonia Trial).


Susan George

Veteran French-American global justice campaigner; political and social scientist; writer. President of the board of the Transnational Institute in Amsterdam.


Franco Berardi

Writer, media theorist and media activist. Founder of the magazine A/traverso; part of the staff of Radio Alice, the first free pirate radio station in Italy.


Avi Lewis

Avi Lewis is a Canadian documentary film-maker and former host at Al Jazeera English. His latest film is This Changes Everything on the climate crisis.


Alice-Mary Higgins

Senator Alice-Mary Higgins is a full time member of Seanad Éireann, the Irish government’s upper house of the Oireachtas (the Irish legislature), working for economic and social equality and promoting a rights-based approach to health, housing and education.


Saskia Sassen

Dutch-American sociologist noted for her analyses of globalisation and international human migration. Robert S. Lynd Professor of Sociology at Columbia; Centennial visiting Professor at the LSE.

Marcelo Expósito

Marcelo Expósito

Artist, writer and activist. MP for En Comú Podem. Executive Board Member of Barcelona en Comú.


Marie Christine Vergiat

French politician; MEP representing the Left Front since 2009.


Richard Sennett

Richard is the Centennial Professor of Sociology at the London School of Economics and University Professor of the Humanities at New York University.


Ulf Clerwall

Ulf Clerwall is an activist for pluralism, accountability and democracy in social science research and higher education, and a political economist specialised in the financial sector issues in Europe.


Sandro Mezzadra

Writer and Associate Professor of Political Theory at the University of Bologna, Italy.


Rasmus Nordqvist

Member of the Danish Parliament for The Alternative party.


Ken Loach

English film and television director; two-time Palme d'Or winner.


Jean-Michel Jarre

French composer, performer, and music producer. Pioneer of the electronic, ambient, and new-age genres.


Julian Assange

Founder and Editor-in-Chief of Wikileaks.


Berardo Carboni

Italian director and scriptwriter, specialising in feature film and documentaries with deep political impact.


Slavoj Žižek

Slovenian-born philosopher and psychoanalyst. Professor of philosophy at the European Graduate School; senior researcher at the Institute for Sociology and Philosophy at the University of Ljubljana.


David McWilliams

Irish economist, writer, broadcaster and journalist. Faculty member of the business school at Trinity College, Dublin.

Exclusive. Minister for Territorial Equality and Housing, Cecile Duflot poses in her ministry's headquarters in Paris, France in January 2013. Photo by Laetitia Notarianni/ABACAPRESS.COM

Cécile Duflot

French politician; former Minister of Territorial Equality and Housing, former leader of the French Green party Europe Ecology – The Greens.


John McDonnell

UK Labour Party politician; Shadow Chancellor since September 2015. MP for Hayes and Harlington.


Walter Baier

Austrian economist. Formerly national Chairman of the Communist Party of Austria (KPÖ) and editor of the Austrian weekly Volksstimme. Coordinator of the Transform! Europe network.

Mantua , September 2005 -Festivaletteratura ( European Literature Festival )- Barbara Spinelli , journalist and writer ><

Mantova , Settembre 2005 - Festivaletteratura ( Festival Europeo della Letteratura )- Barbara Spinelli , giornalista e scrittrice

Barbara Spinelli

Italian MEP, representing Central Italy. Co-founder of Italian newspaper La Repubblica.


Gerardo Pisarello

First Deputy Mayor of Barcelona, with responsibility for Work, Economy and Strategic Planning; formerly professor in constitutional law at the University of Barcelona.


James K. Galbraith

American economist and author. Professor at the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs at the University of Texas at Austin.

Naomi Klein

Naomi Klein

Naomi Klein is an award-winning journalist, writer, film-maker and activist known for her biting critiques of global capitalism


Danae Stratou

Greek visual and installation artist, whose work blends elements of nature with contemporary audiovisual technologies.


Caroline Lucas

British politician; co-leader of the UK’s Green Party. MP for Brighton Pavilion.


Anthony Barnett

British writer and democracy campaigner. Founder of openDemocracy and Co-Editor of OurKingdom, its UK section.


Boris Buden

Croatian philosopher, translator and cultural theorist, writing on philosophy, politics, cultural and art criticism.


Nessa Childers

Irish politician who has been an MEP since 2009.


Angela Richter

Angela is an acclaimed Croatian-German theatre director, activist and author.